SMK Tunku Anum Win Second Charity Shield in Four Years
Posted on 24 February 2013
KUALA LUMPUR (24 February 2013) – SMK Tunku Anum of Kedah showed their mettle from the penalty spot to beat SMK Seri Titiwangsa of Kuala Lumpur 3-1 to win their second Charity Shield in four years at the Stadium Bolasepak Kuala Lumpur in Cheras last night.

The victorious SMK Tunku Anum team with officials and dignitaries at the prize giving ceremony last night alongside Tan Sri Abdul Ghafar Mahmud, the director general of the Ministry of Education and Datuk Azzuddin Ahmad, the general secretary of the FA of Malaysia (FAM)

With the score tied 1-1 at the end of regulation, the city side’s failure to convert their first two spot kicks handed the initiative to their counterparts from Kedah who kept their cool for their first silverware of the season.

“We should have wrapped things up early in the second half, but a defensive mistake allowed our opponents to come back into the game with the equalizing goal,” said Basirul Abu Bakar, the chief coach of SMK Tunku Anum.

“But whatever the case maybe, the players still showed their quality to win on penalties and we hope that we can go on to defend our MELC title this year.”

With the Charity Shield match being the clash of the two top-ranked teams from the two groups last year, the pressure was on SMK Seri Titiwangsa to turn the tables on the more successful SMK Tunku Anum side from the north.

For the record, SMK Tunku Anum had won the overall MELC crown twice with triumphs in 2010 and 2012 apart from having won the Charity Shield in its inaugural year in 2010. And last night, they went into the game on confident mode despite the overwhelming support the home team had from the stands.

After some sustained pressure, Mohamad Aizat Safuan Razali blasted in the lead for SMK Tunku Anum in the 17th minute. But their failure to make it count with the several chances they had after that, allowed SMK Seri Titiwangsa to draw level with the equalizer off Mohd Irfan Hasnusan just after the hour mark.

Growing in confidence, SMK Seri Titiwangsa pushed hard in the closing stages of the tie, which resulted in a red card on Kedah’s Muhammad Zhafir Mohd Yusof where out of desperation and his inability to control his emotion saw him lashing out at Raden Emeer Raden Norazrolrizal with five minutes still to play.

“The team did not lose shape even when we were trailing by a goal. It was just unfortunate that we lost on penalties, what more considering that we also lost the first three points of the season,” added Rozlan Alias, the chief coach of SMK Seri Titiwangsa. “But we will bounce back from this.”

But while SMK Tunku Anum had to struggle for their first three points of the new season, last season’s losing finalist – SMK Mutiara Impian of Penang – began their campaign on a fantastic note when they blasted Sekolah Sukan Tengku Mahkota Ismail 5-0.

Two goals apiece from Muhammad Azmeer Aris Nor Rashid    (16th and 55th minute) and Mohamad Shahle Yusoff (27th and 30th minute) were enough to do the trick before another strike from Muhammad Irwan Shah Yaakub in the 52nd minute moved the islanders to top of the standings.

The MELC and 100PLUS Super Cup are among several youth programmes and competitions supported by 100PLUS, Malaysia’s leading isotonic beverage.

The others include the 100PLUS Malaysian Junior Golf Open and the 100PLUS National Junior Badminton Circuit. 100PLUS is recommended by the National Sports Council.

2010 – SMK Tunku Anum (KEDAH)
2011 – SMK Bukit Nenas (TERENGGANU)
2012 - SMK Seberang Temerloh (PAHANG)
2013 – SMK Tunku Anum (KEDAH)


SMK Seri Titiwangsa (KUALA LUMPUR) 1 (1)
SMK Tunku Anum (KEDAH) 1 (3)

Tengku Mahkota Ismail Sports School 0
SMK Mutiara Impian (PENANG) 5

SMK Seksyen 11 (SELANGOR) 3
SMK Tabuan Jaya (SARAWAK) 0

SMK Seri Kota (MELAKA) 2
SMK Gunung Rapat (PERAK) 1

Pahang Sports School 1
SMK Tun Hussein Onn (JOHOR) 1

SMK Peter Mojuntin (SABAH) 1


SMK Seri Titiwangsa (KUALA LUMPUR) 1
SMK Tunku Anum (KEDAH) 1

Tengku Mahkota Ismail Sports School 3
SMK Mutiara Impian (PENANG) 2

Sekolah Sukan Pahang 0

SMK Seksyen 11 (SELANGOR) 1
SMK Tabuan Jaya (SARAWAK) 2

SMK Seri Kota (MELAKA) 1
SMK Gunung Rapat (PERAK) 2

Pahang Sports School 0
SMK Tun Hussein Onn (JOHOR) 2

Bukit Jalil Sports School 1
SMK Syed Hassan (PERLIS) 3

SMK Peter Mojuntin (SABAH) 2

«  Back