Back to Drawing Board to SMK Tunku Anum
Posted on 29 April 2012
KUALA LUMPUR (29 April 2012) – Former champions SMK Tunku Anum of Kedah will have to do a lot of re-strategizing in the next week following their first defeat of the season to SMK Seksyen 11 of Selangor yesterday. The side from the north - winners in 2010 – fell to a 3-1 loss on the road to the city side which has seen them slipped down to third from second in Group B.

SMK Tunku Anum had also failed to grab this year’s Charity Shield when they fell to a 3-1 loss to SMK Seberang Temerloh at the start of the season.

SMK Bukit Jalil (in blue) vs SMK Putera (in red)

“It was our first loss of the season, notwithstanding the defeat in the Charity Shield. It is two losses in less than two months which I think is unacceptable,” said Abdul Hadi Salleh, the chief coach of SMK Tunku Anum. “This week, the midfield was not functioning as well as it should.

“We did not create a lot of chances but when we do, the forwards were just not making any of it count. The performance of the frontline was just not consistent enough and it is for that reason, we have to do some rethinking for the next match (against SMK Seri Kota of Melaka).

“Perhaps we have to bring in some other lads to provide some challenge to the current set of payers.”

In a closely contested affair, SMK Seksyen 11 grabbed the lead on 39 minute off Muhammad Amirul Ashraf Ariffin in the 39th minute before adding further goals off Mohammad Azrul Syafiq Norinukartapati (62nd minute) and Muhamad Aiman Firdaus Ahmad Azahar (69th). The side from Kedah scored their only goal in the game off Mohd Firdaus Abdullah in the 71st minute.

While SMK Tunku Anum faltered this week, SMK Seri Kota of Melaka moved up to second in Group B following their 5-1 win over SMK Datuk Peter Mojuntin of Sabah as SMK Mutiara Impian maintained their position at the top of the standings.

The islanders maintained their unbeaten record this week with a close 1-0 win at home over SMK Za'ba of Negeri Sembilan. The only goal in the game came off Mohd Hasrul Che Halim in the 16th minute off a corner from Mohamad Aminur Azmi.

In the meantime, the Ministry of Education with the support of main sponsor 100PLUS launched the Minister of Education League-100PLUS 2012 quiz for schools recently in a bid to get school children to be more involve in the football league organized by the Ministry.

The quiz is opened to all secondary schools and private secondary schools registered under the Ministry.

“The league should be given the chance to grow in other areas as well, thus having a quiz will get more students interested and involved in this programme,” said Puan Ee Hong, the Director for Sports Division, Ministry of Education.

Added Cariessa Goh, the Corporate Affairs manager with F&N Beverages Marketing Sdn Bhd: “we are always keen to get involved in programmes that can contribute to youth development. We see this quiz as a way forward for the youth football league which has been growing steadily over the years.”

Participation in the quiz is totally through the Football Club of the respective schools where participants are required to answer four questions at the end of each month and also come up with a suitable catch phrase to complete the slogan.

Only one winner will be selected at the end of each month where they stand to win one (1) set of jerseys which consist of 16 outfield player jerseys and two sets for goalkeepers, five(5) official competition balls and 30 cartons of 100PLUS (325ml).

To take part in the Minister of Education League-100PLUS 2012 quiz, participants will have to access the league’s official website at

The MELC and 100PLUS Super Cup are among several youth programmes and competitions supported by 100PLUS, Malaysia’s leading isotonic beverage.

The others include the 100PLUS Malaysian Junior Golf Open and the 100PLUS National Junior Badminton Circuit. 100PLUS is recommended by the National Sports Council.
SMK SMK Tabuan Jaya (SARAWAK) 0 SMK Bukit Nenas (TERENGGANU) 4
SMK Syed Hassan (PERLIS) 1 SMK Tun Hussein Onn (JOHOR) 1
SMK Titiwangsa (KUALA LUMPUR) 1 SMK Gunung Rapat (PERAK) 0
SMK Datuk Peter Mojuntin (SABAH) 1 SMK Seri Kota (MELAKA) 5
SSM Bukit Jalil 0 SMK Putera (KELANTAN) 1
SMK Mutiara Impian (PENANG) 1 SMK Za’ba (NEGERI SEMBILAN) 0
SMK Seksyen 11 (SELANGOR) 3 SMK Tunku Anum (KEDAH) 1

SMK SMK Tabuan Jaya (SARAWAK) 1 SMK Bukit Nenas (TERENGGANU) 0
SMK Syed Hassan (PERLIS) 2  SMK Tun Hussein Onn (JOHOR) 2
SMK Titiwangsa (KUALA LUMPUR) 2 SMK Gunung Rapat (PERAK) 1
SMK Datuk Peter Mojuntin (SABAH) 0 SMK Seri Kota (MELAKA) 5
SSM Tengku Mahkota Ismail 0 SMK Putera (KELANTAN) 0
SMK Mutiara Impian (PENANG) 6 SMK Za’ba (NEGERI SEMBILAN) 1
SMK Seksyen 11 (SELANGOR) 3 SMK Tunku Anum (KEDAH) 3

«  Back