Nur Suryani on target for prestigious SAM-100PLUS award
Posted on 26 February 2012
PETALING JAYA (FEB 26, 2012) - National shooter Nur Suryani Mohd Taibi was named the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM)-100PLUS “Athlete Of The Year 2011” at a glittering awards ceremony held at a leading hotel here today.


The 29-year-old, who won two gold medals at the Indonesian SEA Games last year – women’s 50m rifle three-position and 10m air rifle events – sparked the gold rush for the nation in Jakarta and Palembang. Malaysia ended the games with a record breaking 59 gold medals.

Youth and Sports Minister Dato Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek was the guest of honour at the awards ceremony.

Nur Suryani, who took home RM10,000 and a crystal trophy, admitted the win was a big surprise to her.

“I honestly didn’t expect to win this award as the other candidates were all very strong,” she said. “This is one of the best moments of my career and I will treasure the award.”

She was among the five shortlisted nominees for the prestigious SAM-100PLUS Athlete of the Year 2011 award. The other four nominated athletes were world squash champion Datuk Nicol David, world No. 1 shuttler Datuk Lee Chong Wei, Fateha Mustafa (cycling) and Jacqueline Jenelee (bowling).

Several other award winners were revealed earlier this week with the Jakarta SEA Games football champions - the Malaysian Under-23 football team – winning the SAM-100Plus “Out-Do Yourself” Award.

World and Asian junior badminton champion Zulfadli Zulkifli was named “Best Young Athlete” while Asian snooker champion Sam Chong and the Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC) earned the nod for the “Comeback Athlete”" and “Most Dynamic Association” awards respectively.

Meanwhile, The Malay Mail’s Haresh Deol was named Best Sports Journalist besides also picking up the Best Special Report prize.

There were five other awards given for reporting with Aziman Rosdi (Harian Metro) winning the Best Sports Report (print), Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi (Astro Arena) taking home the Best Sports Report (electronic), Muhammad Dayne Azmin Ghazali (Utusan Malaysia) pocketing the Best Sports Commentary (print), Mohd Fadzrie Hazis (Astro Awani) earning the Best Sports Commentary (electronic) and The Star’s S. S. Kanesan judged the best photographer.

Haresh took home RM7,000 for winning the grand prize while the other winners each earned RM3,000.

SAM-100PLUS Awards 2011

Athlete Of The year: Nur Suryani Mohd Taibi (Shooting) RM10,000
Young Athlete Of The Year: Zulfadli Zulkifli (Badminton) RM3,000
Out-Do Yourself: National Under-23 team (Football)
Comeback Athlete Of The Year: Sam Chong (Snooker)
Most Dynamic Sports Association: Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress
Best Sports Journalist: Haresh Deol (The Malay Mail) RM7,000
Best Sports Report (Print): Aziman Rosdi (Harian Metro) RM3,000
Best Sports Report (Electronic): Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi (Astro Arena) RM3,000
Best Sports Commentary (Print): Muhammad Dayne Azmin Ghazali (Utusan Malaysia) RM3,000
Best Sports Commentary (Electronic): Mohd Fadzrie Hazis (Astro Awani) RM3,000
Best Special Report: Haresh Deol (The Malay Mail) RM3,000
Best Sports Photographer: S.S. Kanesan (The Star) RM3,000

«  Back